2008: The year in screenshots

January 4, 2009

Probably more for my own amusement (especially in a year’s time) than for anyone else’s, and in an attempt to document the evolution of my aesthetics, I here give a summary of my own 2008, in screenshots.

The wallpapers I use for my desktops generally reflect my mood, and have some special significance for me at the time. What follows is therefore not just a collection of screenshots, but a reflection of what has been on my mind the last year. Not all the screenshots I’ve taken the past year are here. I’ve left out the odd desktops (like this one or this one) that didn’t last very long.

The screenshots are arranged per computer, roughly chronologically. Yantra is my main computer, on which I do most of my work. Grantha is the computer at my office. Mitra is the old Dell Inspiron 2500 laptop I wrote about earlier.

Most of the screenshots are of Openbox, which I started using in early 2007 (if my memory serves me well…). By the end of 2007, I discovered Pekwm and used that window manager almost exclusively for a few months in the beginning of 2008. In the summer, I started experimenting with Awesome 2.3, which became the standard window manager on one of my computers (mitra), and which I use frequently on another (yantra). All of these screenshots are of Debian or Ubuntu systems. Early in 2008, grantha still ran Windows XP, but that now runs Debian Testing (lenny). One of the early mitra screenshots may be one of Arch Linux, which I had installed on that laptop for a few weeks when I just started using it.

I’ve been using the same themes on grantha and mitra for months now (see the last screenshots for both). The themes on yantra tend to change more often, though I’ve been alternating a lot the last few months between the Children of the Earth themes and the Mythos theme.

I’ve had a lot of dark desktops this year, and have used a couple of dark Gtk themes often (Royalty, Mythos and Eidolon). It really is very pleasant on the eyes, especially at night, even if not all websites go well with it.

For all of you with a slow internet connection: know that this is quite a lengthy post, with more than 40 300×225 thumbnails!

Yantra

abandoned_ob1

fearlessob1

Openbox 3.4.5 with the Fearless Openbox theme, Royalty Gtk theme, and slightly modified GnomeCorsair icons. The font used is Arial Rounded MT Bold. The wallpaper was created with images from this site.

jupiter1

ob_fearlessjupiter2

Openbox 3.4.5 with the Fearless Openbox theme, Royalty Gtk theme, and slightly modified GnomeCorsair icons. The font used is Arial Rounded MT Bold. I used this picture of an eclipse of the Sun by Jupiter as a wallpaper.

aeterna1

Openbox 3.4.5 with the Aeterna Openbox and Gtk theme, and nuoveXT-1.6 icons. Fonts are Sans (conky and Gtk) and Arial Rounded MT (Openbox). The wallpaper is Green stripes by z3ppelin.

deadtrees

Openbox 3.4.5 with the PixelElegance Openbox and Gtk theme, and Human Ultra Gray icons. The wallpaper is a campaign ad of the Chinese WWF; the characters read Forest / Woods / Tree / Death (see here).

more_flowers3

more_flowers4

Pekwm 0.1.6, with the Japanese Pekwm theme, modified Dandelion gtk theme, nuoveXT-1.6 icons, Sans fonts, and the wallpaper Less crap more flowers from customize.org.

sanctuary2

Openbox 3.4.6 with the Uncertainty Gtk and Openbox theme. Fonts are Arial Rounded MT, HeldustryFTV Basic Black, and Aerofoil (conky). I don’t remember where the wallpaper is from.

aeterna_flowers1

aeterna_flowers3

Openbox 3.4 with the Aeterna Openbox and Gtk theme. Icons are nuoveXT-1.6, fonts are Heldustry FTV Basic Black (window titles), Arial Rounded MT (Gtk and Openbox menu), and Aerofoil (conky). The wallpaper is a modification of Sparkling colors, seen in the second screenshot.

windowlabbw01

Windowlab 1.33.

pusan01fw3

pusan02ed8

Pekwm 0.1.6 with a slight modification of Mire v2-orange, and a heavily modified MurrinaSunshine Gtk theme. The icons are my own modification of the Area O (areo) icon set, originally created by the great Heylove. The fonts are Arial Rounded MT 9, and the wallpaper is Golden, by Miemo. More info on this desktop in this post.

priorities01

Openbox 3.4.6 with the First Stone Openbox and Gtk theme and a wallpaper made from an image I once found on deviantart.

waiting01

waiting02

Openbox 3.4.6 with the First Stone Openbox and Gtk theme, and an icon theme I assembled based on the KOMIK icons. I don’t remember where I got the wallpaper image from.

elegance01

pixelelegance01

Pekwm 0.1.6 with the Elegance Pekwm theme and the PixelElegance Gtk themes. Icons are Human UltraGray. The wallpaper is based on a drawing by H.H. Satsvarupa dasa Goswami.

refuge01

Openbox 3.4.6 with the Awakened Openbox and Gtk theme. The wallpaper contains a line from the Bhagavad-gita (11.18, second line).

sri01

sri02

Openbox 3.4.6 with the Into the Unknown Openbox and Gtk themes. Fonts are Corbel and Heldustry FTV Basic Black. The wallpaper uses some devanagari calligraphy by the late R.K. Joshi.

boxes02

boxes01

Openbox 3.4.7, with the Salvage Openbox and Gtk themes, FinalOrder icons, and Corbel for the fonts. The wallpaper is based on a picture from gilad on deviantart.

hayagriva01

Openbox 3.4.7 with a modified Bygone Openbox and Gtk theme, and a home-made wallpaper.

cloister01

Gnome 2.something, with the Royalty Gtk theme. I don’t remember wherefrom I got the picture used for the wallpaper.

coe01

coe_icons3

Openbox 3.4.7, with the Children of the Earth Openbox and Gtk theme, the Children of the Earth icon theme, and this wallpaper, tinted with hsetroot.

awesome-red01

awesome-red02

Awesome 2.3, with the Awesome-red Gtk theme, and the Iris icon theme. Fonts are Corbel and nu (artwiz). This is my first Awesome setup.

seattle01

Openbox 3.4.7, with the Children of the Earth Openbox and Gtk icon theme, and a gimped picture of Seattle.

openb_mythos001

Openbox 3.4.7, with the Mythos Openbox and Gtk themes, and this wallpaper.

dandelion_ob

Openbox 3.4.7, with the Dandelion Openbox theme, and the Eidolon Gtk theme. The icon theme is Oxygen Refit (Black). The font is Corbel.

mythos_awesome01

Awesome 2.3, with a colour scheme matching the Mythos Gtk theme.

coe_field02

Openbox 3.4.7, with the Children of the Earth Openbox and Gtk theme, and the Children of the Earth icon theme. Fonts are Corbel. I don’t remember where I got the wallpaper from.

bhutatma01

bhutatma02

Openbox 3.4.7, with an unreleased Openbox and Gtk theme.

Mitra

surrender02

Openbox 3.4.7 with the Salvage Openbox and Gtk theme. Fonts are Corbel and Sans.

akhilatma01

Awesome 2.3, with the dark colours of the Mythos Gtk theme. The wallpaper depicts a favourite verse from the Bhagavata (11.29.5)

awesome_mythos01

Awesome 2.3, with a colour scheme matching the Mythos Gtk theme. The wallpaper is home-made.

dandelion02

lands

Awesome 2.3, with the Eidolon colour scheme.

Grantha

litestep_screenshot1

Windows XP, Litestep with the 807 theme (slightly modified) and this wallpaper.

xfce01

Xfce 4.4.2 with Openbox 3.4. Openbox theme is Fearless, Gtk theme is Murrina-Tangoesque, icons are HumanAzul2, and the wallpaper is from Customize.org.

salvage_flowers01

salvage_flowers02

Openbox 3.4.7 with the Salvage Openbox and Gtk theme, Corbel fonts, and a wallpaper based on an image I once found online.

14 Responses to “2008: The year in screenshots”

  1. colonelcrayon said

    Great post!

  2. Quite a variety! Nice to see PekWM getting a little love in there. 😉

  3. Mikko said

    Very cool themes, I especially like to see simplicity combined with some oriental touch!

  4. Navi said

    Speaking of Pekwm, I found the option that makes skippy work.
    Edit .skippyrc so that useNETWMFullscreen = false.

    Tested with Skippy and pekwm 0.15 from Debian testing repos.

  5. Derek M. said

    I really like the combination of the Fearless Openbox theme and Royalty Gtk theme. Going to give it a try, instead of my usual 1977-Black with clearlook.

  6. Picwal said

    ohh nice pictures , great done , take look on mine maybe you will find it interesstin, http://www.picwal.0lx.net

  7. john said

    i like your awesome desktops but tell me have you done anything similar with awesome three and is so are you planning on releasing the details?

  8. urukrama said

    Thank you, John. I haven’t really used Awesome 3. I continue installing Awesome 2.x, building it from source. I don’t like the direction Awesome took with 3, but still like the 2.x versions, so I keep using that.

    • john said

      thank you for your reply. i like the lua programming language so i’m sticking with 3.x. first attempts at customising are going really well. however, i can’t find your awesome-red gtk theme or corbel/nu (artwiz) fonts via google and the iris icon theme on gnome-look is broken 😦 also, i much prefer your layout icons (i.e. in the status bar next to your tag list) over standard icons. how would one go about using them? thank you.

  9. Analog said

    I’m really impressed with your desktops… they’re really really beautiful and simple.

    I’ll try some of the Desktop managers you’ve used. thanks for sharing your stuff.

  10. George said

    I love the wallpaper you used with the Awesome-red Gtk theme. Is it your own or is it available on the inter-webs? Thanks!

  11. […] As I mentioned a year ago my desktops generally reflect my mood. I chose a particular wallpaper and a matching theme or colour scheme that speaks to me at the time. The pictures that follow thus capture 2009, as I lived it. […]

  12. […] As you can see below, I’ve mainly used dark themes this year (and particularly the Erthe themes), and have changed my setup a lot less often than I did when I started posting these annual overviews. […]

  13. […] in 2014. I change my desktop much less frequently than I used to when I started documenting this, seven years ago, but it still serves as a good index of my thoughts and moods of the past […]

Leave a comment