2013: The year in screenshots

January 1, 2014

Here are my screenshots of 2013.

Early in the year I got Varuna, a Thinkpad X60. Shortly after that I let go of Loka, the old desktop computer I had been using for years, and hooked up Varuna to the 23″ screen I used with Loka. I now only work with Varuna and Savitar, my beloved Thinkpad X41 (they sure don’t make them like this anymore!).

Savitar still runs (an outdated) Debian Testing (Wheezy), as did Loka. Varuna runs Mint Debian Edition, primarily so I could have an easy way to run MATE. As the screenshots below illustrate, I’ve used Openbox exclusively this year, often as the window manager of MATE or Xfce (on Varuna) or Gnome 2.30 (on Savitar).

Savitar is my main work computer, and has changed little in aesthetics since 2012. The dark hues of the Erthe themes has worked so well that I have no desire to change anything other than the wallpaper. On Varuna, the computer I (mainly) use at home for everything else, things change more rapidly (though not nearly as often as 5 years ago).

Loka

lazaa01

Mate 1.4.2, with Openbox 3.5, with a modified Laza Gtk and Openbox theme, and the Gnome-noble icons.

wall01

Mate 1.4.2, with Openbox 3.5, with a modified A New Hope Gtk theme, and the ubo icons.

Varuna

jerome01

jerome02

Xfce 4.8 with Openbox 3.5, using a modified Laza Gtk and Openbox theme, and the Gnome-noble icons. The wallpaper is Caravaggio’s Saint Jerome.

banksy01

Xfce 4.8 with Openbox 3.5, using the Salvage Gtk and Openbox theme, and the AnyColorYouLike icons.

Et in Arcadia ego

Openbox 3.5, with the Rivas themes.

groove01c

Xfce 4.8 with Openbox 3.5, using the Groove themes.

Miroir

Openbox 3.5, using the Miroir themes.

miroir2

miroir_upload

Openbox 3.5, using the Miroir themes.

Savitar

Gnome 2.30, with Openbox, using the Erthe themes, and the AnyColorYouLike icons.

jm01

jm02

Gnome 2.30 and Openbox 3.5, using the Erthe themes.

One Response to “2013: The year in screenshots”

  1. sainoba said

    Glad to see this blog is alive. I check it every time I install Arch + Opebox. It’s really helpfull

Leave a comment