2011: The year in screenshots

January 2, 2012

About a year ago I retired most of my computers, and am now left with only two: Loka, my old desktop (now with a new 23″ screen), and Savitar, a Thinkpad X41 I bought about 18 months ago.

Both computers run Debian Testing. My main desktop environments and window managers on Loka have been Xfce with Openbox and WindowMaker, which I rediscovered this year. On Savitar, I used only Openbox and Awesome.

Loka

Xfce 4.6 with Openbox, using the Alghattas Openbox and Gtk theme, and the Elementary icons. I don’t remember where I found the wallpaper.

Xfce 4.6 with Openbox, using the Alghattas Openbox and Gtk theme, the Elementary icons, and this wallpaper.

Xfce 4.8 with Openbox, using the Erthe Openbox and Gtk theme, the AnyColorYouLike icons, and part of this image as wallpaper.

Xfce 4.8 with Openbox, using the Erthe Openbox and Gtk theme, and the AnyColorYouLike icons.

WindowMaker, with the ShikiBlack WindowMaker theme, the Shiki-JetBlack Gtk theme, and the Moblin icons. I don’t remember where I found the wallpaper.

Savitar

Awesome, with the Children of the Earth Awesome theme, Gtk theme, and icons, and Caspar David Friedrich’s Monk am See.

Openbox with the Children of the Earth Openbox theme.

4 Responses to “2011: The year in screenshots”

  1. […] Vor zwei Tagen entschied sich Urukrama erneut einen Jahresrückblick zu machen und präsentierte seine Desktops aus den Jahren 2010 und 2011. […]

  2. Lea said

    Really interested in the Sri Krishna Caitanya wallpaper!!! Haribol! mail is lea.chescotta at gmail.com THANKSSSS!!!

  3. R3nCi said

    Hm, I rather like the name Loka. Good choice!

  4. I Heart Openbox said

    For those interested in the water-droplet wallpaper: some creative searching has shown me that it can be found here: http://www.thisetc.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/07/droplets.jpg

    It was originally photographed by the Flickr user “minyoad” on July 28, 2008.

    widefw_008

    widefw_014

    It is a very lovely photograph, isn’t it?

    urukrama, please keep up the absolutely brilliant work. This blog is full of excellent information on minimalist/lightweight Linux-setups, which happen to be a strong interest of mine.

Leave a comment